To not run the risk of making compromises to the goods of design, or to make decision forced for the needs of design, I firstly set up the whole app in black and white – just making the content.

This working method should ensure that the app interface would work, even when limited to it’s most basic design. I sometimes adjust the content so it fits to what I need for my design.
This time, however, it is crucial for my project that the app itself works nicely. It will be really complex – which is fine. Still, the user should not have the feeling it is too complex, confusing or complicated. It should be simple and easy to handle. To find the perfect ratio between these two characteristics, I aim to add depth to the basic interface.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My first tries (seems like a long way to go):

