After requesting “Toast – the story of a boys hunger by one of Britain’s most famous chefs Nigel Slater” at the library (as it is not available there), I instead read the book. Some passages in there are great and anyhow support the whole idea of family and food, which is the starting point of my whole trajectory.

Introduction Text: “Toast is Nigel Slater’s truly extraordinary story of a childhood remembered through food […] Nigel’s likes and dislikes, aversions and sweet-toothed weaknesses form a fascinating and often amusing backdrop to this incredibly moving and deliciously evocative memoir of childhood, adolescence and awakening” (Nigel Slater, Introduction, 2003).

 

My favourite passages of the book:

“Cake holds a family together. I really believed it did. My father was a different man when there was cake in the house. Warm” (Slater, 2003, p.4)

“You can’t smell a hug. You can’t hear a cuddle. But if you could, I reckon it would smell and sound of warm bread-and-butter pudding” (Slater, 2003, p.7)

 

Happily, two weeks after my request, the library contacted me and sent me a link where I could watch “Toast” online. The movie was great too. This story is just perfectly related to my topic of food linked to family.

 

References:

Slater, N. (2003) Toast the story of a boy’s hunger. London: Fourth Estate.

Bobnational (2016) Toast the story of a boy’s hunger. Available at: http://bobnational.net/record/298170 (Accessed: 2 June 2016).

 

